Dodge Durango Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
*I have some mechanic experience but most likely not as much as you.

I rolled my AWD 2001 Durango SLT 5.9l off of a mountain on 9/13/2016, thankfully no one was seriously hurt. The ride is totaled for sure but it has a brand new 5.9l and automatic monster transmission with transmission cooler :( I was so impressed with the 2001 that the very next day I went out and bought a 1999 SLT 4x4 with manual transfer case and the 318ci V8 (The seller lied and told me it was a 360) to hopefully swap my new 360 and monster transmission into. This should be doable right? I don't know for certain but the block dimensions and transmission mounts are the same correct?

I realize that I have a lot of work ahead of me, but I would please like to know how many of the parts I can swap over because the 1999's suspension and axles are beat and the 318 has 240k miles on it (Still runs chipper though!). The 99 has a polygonal rear differential housing with a 12 bolt pattern and the 2001 donor has a rounded rear housing with a 10 bolt pattern.

Will it be extremely difficult to swap the engine and transmission from the 01 to the 99? ---I only plan to keep the 2001 until I have pulled the last usable part off of it (Tan leather interior is in near immaculate condition and I don't plan to use any of the interior pieces by the way.)

Can I take the Rear axle and/or front axle assemblies from the 2001 and bolt it right onto the 1999?

Can I swap the newer OEM shocks from the 01 and put them on the 1999?

Will I need to swap the transfer case?

Will I need to swap the computers or anything else tricky like that?

Can I keep the 1999 Durango as a manual transfer case or will I need to convert it to fulltime AWD? I am totally fine with either drive, just looking to keep the labor to a minimum.

Can I swap the newer bakes from the 01 to the 1999? Both have front disc brakes and rear drums.