Dodge Durango Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, my new 2015 Durango came stock with passive entry. The dodge dealer installed a Mopar command start and gave me my vehicle back with 2 new passive entry keys with the new start button on it, however my wife and I can't get the passive entry to work on the drivers door now. The end hate and passenger side work just fine. The service guy says they didn't do anything wrong and don't know why it doesn't work. Everything worked fine when we took it in and now it doesn't. It's a brand new vehicle bought 3 months ago. The service guys solution is to replace the door handle. I am a mechanic of 15 years for Dodge but that was 10 years ago. I'm not up to par with the new technology. I think this service guy is an idiot and doesn't know what he's talking about. Can anyone else give me a solution to my problem without replacing the door handle cause my mind is telling me it's a computer problem and not the handle, because it worked perfectly fine when I took it in. Please get back to me with some tips or tricks I can try to resolve this issue. Thank you.

·
Registered
1,962 Posts
Did you pay for the door handle and remote start with credit card or was it built into the loan ?

·
Super Moderator
12,824 Posts
There is a 'sensor' in the door handle, and that could indeed be the problem.. but more likely there is a connector that came loose during the install.

At any rate, it is a warranty fix, no?

·
Administrator
28,307 Posts
Its under Warranty tell them to fix it or go to another dealer
My guess as Tom said they left something disconnected underdash feeding that door
STEVE

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6