Dodge Durango Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all new here and new to Durango’s I have a 98 5.2 and it had an exhaust leak the bolts broke off in the head. I’m not a newbie mechanic by any means but I’m stumped.
Replaced the head with a refurb one everything went exactly as planned. The only thing that I didn’t care for was the rear of the intake the rubber gasket that has the dimples to hold it in wasn’t staying exactly put as it was suppose to do I added a little rtv as the manual said to both sides to hold in. The truck idles amazingly well just pours smoke out like a head gasket. Am I missing something I’ve seen this with bad pcv valves before. Any suggestions what to check? No af in the oil no excess pressure in the radiator. Could that rear intake gasket cause it? it smells like af for sure so it’s got coolant making its way to the exhaust some how

Attachments

·
Registered
4 Posts
Is the smoke very white and vaporizes after exiting? Does it have a 'sweet' smell? If so it's definitely coolant. It could be the rebuilt head or the head gasket installed incorrectly. You'll need to disassemble, carefully remove the head without damaging the new gasket. Then inspect which cylinders are 'clean'. Either way, you're going back in.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·