Dodge Durango Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up my new 2014 r/t on Tuesday night. Wednesday morning as I'm driving it starts popping and shaking and stalls. I'm able to get it back on but the popping and shaking is still there. I make it to the dealership - service tells me it's a broken rocker arm and bent intake push-rod. Full details are in the attached image. I'm no car expert, but I would expect to not have engine problems after driving it for 50 miles. Obviously I'm frustrated - I'm looking for thoughts on how big of an issue this is. I've asked for a replacement from Chrystler and they are getting back to me. It was fixed and I've driven it for a day. Since I didn't even have time to get used to the vehicle I don't know what sounds are normal and what I should worry about. There is definitely a popping noise still, very faint. It could just be the hemi's normal sound. After driving it for a day (country driving) it only averaged 13mpg which is below the low end of the ratings. I don't know what possible side effects from a damaged engine could be. Any thoughts on my situation would be appreciated. I was very excited about the purchase and love the looks/features of the vehicle but obviously have been turned off by the experience.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,263 Posts
Very Sorry for your bad experience. That is too bad and very understandable that it has severely dampened your New Car Experience. It appears that the issue originated from a sticky lifter, good news is it never caused any major internal damage and you had no control of it. I would be very observant of weird noises, vibrations, etc.for a while and make sure to document all maintenance and repairs done with dates and mileages when they were done. You are 95%+ odds gonna be OK and just got a hand dealt that could of been worse. Its too bad that these things happen but they do. Don't get Discouraged and congratulations on the New RT!!!!!