Dodge Durango Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to towing a trailer of this size. When driving on the interstate at 62MPH or higher the front of the Durango starts to feel light like the front of the car can walk around the road. This is much worse when semis are passing which makes sense. I was hoping to be able to get to 65 to 70 MPH comfortably (I understand there’s not much I can do about the semis). I have towed a uhaul trailer from Alaska to Mississippi that loaded was around 2700 pounds. The front fender is 1/8 inch lifted with the trailer fully hooked up, the trailer is 1/4 inch lower at the front hooked up than it was level. Any suggestions on how to improve stability? Would tire pressure change much? Am I being unrealistic about getting to 65/70MPH and is the feather light feeling in the front of the tow vehicle a normal thing?
Towing vehicle:2015 Dodge Durango R/T AWD with class IV hitch and break controller.
Travel Trailer: 2018 Forest River Wildwood rt180 18 foot toy hauler. Unloaded weight 3,100LBS with about 1000 pounds loaded in. Hitch weight about 450 LBS.
WDH:Fastway E2 trunnion sway control/WDH.

·
Registered
380 Posts
Toy haulers typically have a very high tongue weight to compensate for the weight of an ATV/SXS in the back. If you don't have considerable weight in the tail of the trailer your tongue weight will likely be higher than your Durango is designed for. This will cause excessive squat and give you the floating feeling on the front end. (I just looked at your camper online. Its only 430lb on your tongue when dry. Your Durango shouldn't have an issue with this trailer if your hitch is set up properly.)

·
Registered
2018 DD R/T AWD
481 Posts