Dodge Durango Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I spoke with dodge customer service yesterday according to the person I spoke with, the manual that was sent out with the Durango is wrong. The true towing capacity of the 3.6L Durango is yup you guessed it 6,200lbs. That is with the factory or non factory hitch, without the extra cooling and extra added features. I was told those entries are for people who will be towing on a constant basis like 3-4 times a week. I then went to the dealer who showed me a copy of the delivery sheet which states the tow rating is 6,200lbs. ( I'll post a pic once I scan it )

That said I have been towing since I was 17 years old that is 27 years for me and I can tell you, the truck will struggle with that much weight things will strain and break no doubt, it happens to every tow vehicle at some point. Please take what I have said here in your own way, I am just passing on what I was told by dodge. If you truly need a truck to tow anything over 5,000 lbs I would suggest getting a Hemi (5.7L) Durango or a ram p/u.

·
Registered
1,146 Posts
The person I spoke with at dodge customer service told me i can't trust the website specs and had to go by the manual, so I don't even know what to believe at this point. I bought this suv with the expectation that I'd be able to tow a 5,000 lb camper a few times a year just to find out the manual states 3,500 lbs. I also looked for a sticker that shows the gvwr combined and didn't see anything on the drivers door that helped. Are you saying that yours is not tow equipped? Dodge needs to get their shit together. The 15 manual shows the same tow ratings as the 14

Reactions: Citadel Brian

·
Premium Member
8,067 Posts