Dodge Durango Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
2017 AWD durango GT 3.6
Joined
·
1,063 Posts
I suspect BCM configuration might be set incorrectly. There is a program called Alfaobd the can read your configuration for free (example of my GT attached), to change it you have to buy the full version ~$60. There are settings like "special package" (more than one) that might not be set correctly.

Font Rectangle Circle Number Pattern


Font Number Parallel Rectangle Circle


With alfa you can change it to SRT (usually best to have a copy but nit easy to get ahold of). Or take your readout of your BCM to the dealership and have them verify.
Rectangle Font Screenshot Parallel Number
 

Attachments

· Registered
2017 AWD durango GT 3.6
Joined
·
1,063 Posts
If you have an unlocked PCM it will generate a P1400 code (this is for +2017 models) that also gets stored in the BCM. Tough to get rid of without flashing BCM and running a stock PCM and calibration.
 

· Registered
2017 AWD durango GT 3.6
Joined
·
1,063 Posts
I thought the UAS/UAQ radios don't have a "reset to factory" option like the RA4/RA3 radios do? Also it has no impact on firmware, it just does a hard reboot of the system which usually helps with radios that don't enter the sleep cycle.
 

· Registered
2017 AWD durango GT 3.6
Joined
·
1,063 Posts
Sounds like SRT pages need to be enabled. On challengers you can enable it thru car configurations in the BCM. The cluster the displays SRT font and splash screen. People do this all the time with a tazer or alfaobd.
 

· Registered
2017 AWD durango GT 3.6
Joined
·
1,063 Posts
Here is an example of an challenger SRT cluster (on the challengers the SRT logo on the speedo which cannot be programmed on or off because it is stamped/etched in) that I swapped into my 2015 RT challenger manual which is running the RT screen/font. I can get it to display SRT font/layout on the cluster but only if I enable SRT pages which will show up on the radio unit.


Car Motor vehicle Automotive lighting Speedometer Light

 

· Registered
2017 AWD durango GT 3.6
Joined
·
1,063 Posts
Wich Program do you used to do this?
Alfaobd. Same software that let me enable launch control in my challenger and enable the tow wiring harness on my durango. It is also a powerful diagnostic tool. On +2018 models however you will need a bypass for the security gateway which Zautomotive sells. Actually before buying alfa (assuming the OP decides to give it a try to fix the problem) or a bypass, download the free version of alfa and use it with a compatible obd interface so you can get a log of you BCM configuration. That way you can see what things are set to. Here is an example of my BCM config. I am guessing you might need to at least change this setting...on challengers/chargers this is just one out of a couple of settings that need to change.
Rectangle Font Circle Parallel Magenta


Wonder if your config needs to change to SRT Hellcat or most likely WD SRT further down the list?
Font Parallel Rectangle Number Screenshot
 

Attachments

· Registered
2017 AWD durango GT 3.6
Joined
·
1,063 Posts
You are mixing threads folks :)
We have two SRTs (two threads) with this issue and I am a third one :)
I think it happened before the IPC update just OP (other thread OP) did not notice it. It was either during battery shut off while driving or while fixing that battery cable.
And this thread OP bought already with an issue. Probably battery was dead for few days or weeks while car standing in the lot...
If it is battery related then it is most likely a configuration was changed. When batt voltage gets low enough the bus instructions can get corrupted leading to crazy things happening. On the challenger forum guys with pre-2014 challengers are often fighting WIN module issues due to the battery either being disconnected or the battery goes dead. I still think SRT folks should get the free version of alfa so they can pull their BCM configuration to compare.
 

· Registered
2017 AWD durango GT 3.6
Joined
·
1,063 Posts
Is there a setting somewhere that identifies which model and/or trim level the vehicle is? Is that just buried in the VIN somehow? I've played around with other manufacturer ECUs (mainly VAG) and they definitely have things like that buried in some of their modules. I would not be surprised if all clusters used the same firmware, but demostrated different behaviors based on the VIN, or perhaps a code on the bus, perhaps something from another module.
Look at my previous post...the BCM gives insight to model/trim level. Otherwise you can do buildsheet or windowsticker lookup here:
 

· Registered
2017 AWD durango GT 3.6
Joined
·
1,063 Posts
But do we have confirmation that the cluster is using that info from the BCM? And do any of the folks here having issues see the wrong trim level indicated there?
In my previous posts I showed an SRT cluster installed on my RT challenger and it shows RT font/splash screen. I can change it to SRT if I change the config of the BCM. Even a challenger RT cluster can be changed to show SRT font and splash screen by changing the BCM configuration. Never tried on my durango as I have a GT but I am pretty sure I can change at least the splash screen.
 

· Registered
2017 AWD durango GT 3.6
Joined
·
1,063 Posts
We most probably have correct trim indicated. At least my shop restored default config during works (i had modifications done for EU) and it did not change a thing.
Was the EU mod the turn signals? If so a member figured it out using DiagFCA which is similar to alfaobd but has subroutines to make certain changes as opposed to changing configurations one by one.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top